Community Sports Builders (Western Ontario Athletic Association)

PrintCommunity Sports Builders



The WOAA Community Sports Builders program was established as part of the WOAA 75th Anniversary proceedings to recognize volunteers who have served a minimum of 20 years in promoting, organizing, and maintaining hockey, softball, and baseball in WOAA communities.  All Sports Builders were nominated by their local communities and a full description of each of these dedicated people and the work they have done in their community is included in the WOAA 75th Anniversary History Book.

Earl Berry - Chatsworth
Nancy Berwick - Teeswater
Derrick Burrows - Kincardine
Grant Currie - Wingham
Garry Dietz Sr.* - Mildmay
Maurice Donnelly - Cargill
Dave Garinger - Owen Sound
Don "Boom" Gravett* - Hanover
John Hafermehl* - Mildmay
Bev Harron - Owen Sound
Rob Hollinger - Listowel
Murray Leask - Cargill
Bill Hunter* - Lucknow
Jack Lee* - Blyth
Eldon "Mac" MacLachlan* - Palmerston
Ray Martin* - Walkerton
Wayne Martin - Palmerston
Alvin McGee - Goderich
Murray Moffat - Lucknow
Bob Murray - Goderich
Ellen Schmalz - Mildmay
Francis Schmalz - Mildmay
Wayne Swanton* - Mildmay
Don Wilson - Listowel

*Unfortunately some of the above named were deceased when the program was established but their legacy lives on in their community and in the whole of the WOAA.