WOAA teams win 2022 OMHA Championships, News, Boys Rep (Western Ontario Athletic Association)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 28, 2022 | Rick Vivian | 111 views
WOAA teams win 2022 OMHA Championships
Three WOAA teams took home the "Red Hats" as OMHA Champions in tournaments held over the first two weekends in April 2022.  A total of 26 WOAA teams qualified for the newly formatted OMHA tournament style championships.

The Shallow Lake Lakers took home top prize in the U11 Tier 3 championships with a 6-2 win over Dresden.  The Lakers went undefeated in six games including a 3-0 win over WOAA counterparts from Drayton in the semi-finals.
Thumb Shallow_Lake_U11_Tier_3_2022.jpg

In the U15 Tier 2 OMHA Championships, the Walkerton Capitals went undefeated in their five games including a final 3-1 victory over Ilderton to claim top honors.

Thumb Walkerton_U15_Tier_2_2022.jpg

The Mitchell Meteors outscored their opposition 23-4 with four wins and a tie in the U18 Tier 1 division.  The Meteors blanked Ennismore 5-0 in the final, their fourth shutout of the tournament.

Thumb Mitchell_U18_Tier_1_2022.jpg

Five other teams from the WOAA ended up Finalists in their respective divisions:
Walkerton Capitals were on the shortend of a 5-3 score to Lambeth in the U11 Tier 1 division.  Walkerton had defeated Lambeth earlier in the weekend.
In the U13 Tier 2 finals Huron Bruce Blizzard lost out to South Huron by a 3-1 score.
Arran Elderslie Icedogs were edged out 3-2 by Collingwood AE3 in the Tier 3 group of the U13 division.  It was the second one goal loss of the tournament to the same Collingwood team.
The Huron Bruce Blizzard lost a heartbreaker to Dresdan in a shoot out in the U15 Tier 3 group.  The Blizzard dominated play but could not beat the stingy Dresdan goaltender.
Finally the Shallow Lake Lakers U18 team suffered their only loss of the tournament in the final to Dresdan by a 2-1 count.  The two teams had tied earlier in the tournament.

It was a fantastic showing by the WOAA having teams in 8 of the 13 OMHA Tier 1, 2, and 3 Championship games in the tournaments held in Barrie, Windsor, and Whitby.